Trying to Stick to One Theme

I have been involved with painting for many years and have jumped around from creating nonrepresentational images to realistic scenes.  I love both styles of art.  This past summer I built a studio at our cottage and spent many days working in my studio.  We live on the shores of a gorgeous lake and over the summer I took many photographs of pickerel weeds and water lilies that sit close to the shoreline.  So, I began creating paintings on canvas using acrylic paints.  My first painting was exciting and I decided to continue with that direction.  I plan on creating 20 pieces in different sizes.  So, I have included the first four paintings below.

Image

 

First painting of the shoreline.   This is acrylic on a 24″ X 48″ size canvas.

Image

 

Second painting of pickerel weeds found along the shoreline.  Painting is acrylic on a 30″ X 30″ size canvas.  

Image

 

Third painting of pickerel wends on a 30″ X 30″ canvas using acrylic paint. 

Image

 

Fourth painting of waterlilies and pickerel weeds on the shore of our lake.  Canvas is 30″ X 30″ and acrylic paint.  

About Anna

I am a painter and sculptor and have a studio beside a beautiful lake. For the past 40 years, I designed and built puppets, masks and sculptures and had solo exhibitions of these works. In 2013, I went back to painting and started working in encaustic. I am interested in issues of identity in terms of weavings as coverings to protect or to hide. The intersecting lines that I create over landscapes create an internal conversation versus the external between nature vs. nurture. Or how actual or psychological barriers erected in an environment can disrupt a cherished place. My engagement with woven structures speak to complex dialogues between identity and psychological barriers. My second passion is teaching. I try to encompass more than teaching my students art techniques. I encourage students to, not only learn the language of art, but to also engage in critiquing art. Additionally, we continually explore ways to enhance one's voice through art in relation to contemporary and historical issues. Encaustic adventures is a blog where not only processes and techniques are taught, but hopefully this sites will engage in a dialogue about the making of art, notions of voice, identity, themes, and ways to establish a body of work within an historical contexts.

Posted on January 20, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

